Home made gifts part 3 – Bath Bombs – Full series to make mothers day birhday/Christmas pamper sets

Firstly, I tend to wing things, I’m fairly sure there are recipes out there that aren’t mushy like mine, but I prefer to mould mine this way.  I don’t have moulds so hands had to do.  You will need:

Baking Soda 2 parts

Citric Acid 1 part

Essential Oils – I used patchouli, geranium and rose.

Carrier Oil – I used coconut oil and about a teaspoon for what I made.

water

Mini Cake Cases

A Mixing Bowl/Jug

Dried flowers to decorate

food colouring if you want to colour them, I forgot so mine are natural 😉

2014-03-25 19.16.47

2014-03-25 19.35.02

As I needed a few as gifts, I guessed the amount and it worked out pretty well.  I got 14 bath bombs from 6 dessert spoons of baking soda and 3 of citric acid (I’d recommend using a more accurate measure but I cook like this, what can I say).

2014-03-25 19.18.16

I’m sure you all know how to add bicarbonate of soda and citric acid into a jug but just to show you the differences in textures before and after I have put it in.  Next you add the oils and need to mix them well, patchouli needs to be almost crushed in as it’s thick.

2014-03-25 19.22.51

Then start adding water, I recommend a spray bottle, typically I couldn’t find one so I trickled it in, mixing vigorously (not what I’d recommend to be honest lol).  Again, this worked fine and I ended up with the image below, you’ll notice it is clumping together.

2014-03-25 19.26.02

I then moulded them by pushing rather than rolling.  I did this by hand.

2014-03-25 19.26.47

I then put it into a case and pushed some petals into the top.

2014-03-25 19.28.44

Mine tend to puff up a bit, so I just push the petals in a bit more to make sure they stay there, I suspect that they aren’t meant to puff up, maybe I add too much water when I make them, but they work so I just make them anyway 🙂

2014-03-25 19.41.36

They took me about 10 minutes to make 🙂

The mixture can get a little hard quite quickly but if you keep mixing it you can keep working it 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

