Home made gifts part 4 – Peppermint Lip Balm – Full series to make mothers day birhday/Christmas pamper sets

You will need

1 part beeswax

1 part coconut oil

1 part shea butter

1 part cocoa butter

1 pipette

A means to melt the items for example a double boiler.

A means to measure.

Image

Measure all the items into the jug using the pipette for the peppermint oil.  I have put 1 part for each but I should point out that would be equivalent to 1g of the cocoa butter, coconut oil, shea butter and beeswax but the 1 part peppermint is 1ml to every 4g of other ingredients.  I used 5 of each as I wanted to make 5.  My containers can hold more but I chose it for its simplicity.

2014-03-26 19.50.28

Melt the ingredients together.  While you wait for the items to melt I recommend you set up your tools.

Image

Use the pipette to transfer the liquid into the pots being careful not to burn yourself as everything is hot and to suck up and squeeze out the mixture a few times to disperse any peppermint oil left in the pipette.  Image

Leave to cool and you’re done.  This particular item has just passed it’s full cosmetic testing and will soon be available for sale.  I want to encourage people to use natural products and to make it themselves but demand has created supply in this case.  30% of the profits will be going to charity and I will still have all my recipes available even if they do go onto the market for sale.

2014-03-26 20.20.23

 

Leave a Reply

